This little piggie goes to market

I love market day in Geneva. We walk, about a mile, down beautiful tree-lined streets, passing gorgeous embassies, stately homes and charming churches, until we reach the steep hill affectionately nicknamed “The Horrible Hill of Horribleness” for it’s long and wicked incline. We catch a bus for the Ferney-Voltaire Market at the bottom of the hill. Going down is a snap, but when we return from the market, laden with packages, climbing that Horrible Hill is hell.

20120714-171428.jpgThe outdoor market is filled with all sorts of delectable goodies…fresh fruits and veggies, meats and cheeses and bargains galore. This weeks trip yielded some amazing cherries, to die-for chocolate croissants, the sweetest yellow plums I’ve ever eaten and a fillet knife. Gary and Dolly got stuff to cook dinner at home tonight: handmade ravioli and pasta and lots of fresh vegetables. We stopped at the nearby Carrefour store for a few things and I stocked up on the eucalyptus gum I became addicted to last year.

Unfortunately, they didn’t have mens underwear, so even though I was tired from walking all morning, I had to go in the complete opposite direction (downtown) to get some. Now are you wondering why I needed to purchase mens underwear? Because my darling son only brought 1 extra pair with him. Oy. I probably walked 5-7 miles this morning. At least it made up for the chocolate croissant, huh?

The students have been arriving, one by one, since yesterday. It’s so great to see everyone. They start school tomorrow. I, on the other hand, can continue enjoying myself :). And believe me, I will!

Here are some pictures of the things we pass on our walk to the bus stop

20120724-111033.jpg

20120724-111435.jpg

20120724-111458.jpg

20120724-111521.jpg

20120724-111540.jpg

20120724-111554.jpg

Leave a comment